Poetry Day 22 – cure your fear of poetry

Today I’m going to exercise sustainability – and recycle a blog piece called “Confessions of a Poetry-Phobic” that I wrote for HoCoPoLitSo in 2013.

In this piece, I highlight a few of my favorite lines of poetry, including the words of Lady Macbeth:

[…] Come, you spirits
That tend on mortal thoughts, unsex me here,
And fill me from the crown to the toe top-full
Of direst cruelty. Make thick my blood.
Stop up the access and passage to remorse,
That no compunctious visitings of nature
Shake my fell purpose, nor keep peace between
The effect and it! Come to my woman’s breasts,
And take my milk for gall, […]

What has helped me overcome my fear is witnessing and interacting with LIVE poetry. My long-term relationship with HoCoPoLitSo has meant many opportunities to hear and see poetry in action, and that has made all the difference.

Then recently I received another powerful treatment through Naomi Shehab Nye’s talk on “The Art of Teaching Poetry.”

If you want to overcome your own fears, come out to Howard Community College for the Blackbird Poetry Festival on April 23rd at 7 pm – buy tickets here.  Or if you don’t have any fears of poetry, then come out anyway since you deserve to see Taylor Mali’s poetry in action.

 

Leave a Reply

