Poetry Day 10 – “Urgent, Confidential, F.Y.I.”

2015-04-08 22.32.16 On November 9th 2013, I attended a reading by Michael Glaser, hosted by Howard County Poetry and Literature Society for its 3rd Annual Lucille Clifton Poetry Series. Glaser served as the Poet Laureate of Maryland from 2004-2009, and he teaches at St. Mary’s College in Maryland.

One of the poems he read is called “Urgent, Confident, F.Y.I.” (also called “Thoughts on my Late-Born Child”).

I cried like a baby.  Later, when I shook hands with Glaser and asked him to sign his/my book, I asked him to sign the page with this poem. He wrote, “This especially, for Laura, who gets it… Keep on!!”

Leave a Reply

