Poetry Day 6 – the wasted “waste land”

Today’s I’m thinking of T.S. Eliot’s “The Waste Land” (and other poems).

But I don’t have much to say about this poem except that in college I studied it and apparently I tried very hard to “get” it – see images below.  But now many years later I do not remember the poem and I certainly don’t know what the heck it was all about. One day I hope to return to it – to see if I can go beyond (or bypass) trying to “get it” and see if I can or want to hold it, live it, and carry it, as Naomi Shihab Nye would say.

Seeing these pages with the notes and marginalia makes an interesting exercise in visual rhetoric of a student’s struggle to understand, “get” a work of poetry. It seems that as a senior in college majoring in English literature I took this exercise very seriously – did a lot of research.  (I am wondering,though, how come my notes are so neat?) I’m hoping to share these photos with my students and ask them to share their own poetry marginalia.

2015-04-02 22.04.52 2015-04-02 22.05.12 2015-04-02 22.05.28

Leave a Reply

