Poetry Day 1 – and we go to Innisfree

My favorite poem is William Butler Yeats’ “Lake Isle of Innisfree.”  Every year, on Poem in Your Pocket Day, I carry a copy of this poem.

Something about the poem calms me and takes me to a place in my mind that’s not here. Here, it’s noisy, chaotic, exciting, and fast. And that’s fun. But sometimes I want to go to Innisfree where it’s quiet, slow, and thoughtful.

While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.
Happy National Poetry Month!

 

 

One thought on “Poetry Day 1 – and we go to Innisfree

Leave a Reply

