summer reading commences!

At the beginning of the year, I made a resolution to read 12 books in 365 days.  For the first four or five months, I read nothing.  You know how it is – life got in the way: work, kids, family gatherings, sicknesses, more work, more kids (no, I didn’t have more kids – just more kids stuff happened).

Then, I read David Sedaris’s new book, Let’s Talk Diabetes with Owls, and that got me hooked.  Since then, I’ve read…

  • The Beginner’s Goodbye by Ann Taylor – it was slow and although I always enjoy Taylor’s writings, the themes seemed too reminiscent of the themes she often explores in her novels. It was a bit of a disappointment.
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky – this was recommended to me by a friend, and I really enjoyed it. The narrator is was so lovable and although I couldn’t really relate to his high school experience (mine was quite different), I bought into the narrator’s emotional journey. Loved it.
  • The Fault in Our Stars by John Green – another Young Adult (?) book.  It was fun to read which is a strange thing to say about a story involving teenagers with cancer.  When I laughed out loud my husband asked what I was reading.  I started saying, “It’s about two kids who have cancer…” and he looked at me funny.  Tears and laughter – I love it when both happen in one book.  Read it in two days.
  • The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes – oh, this is just beautifully written.  At times crass and other times poetic. The narrator is sometimes despicable and exasperating but the story is compelling.  It is more an exploration of a philosophical idea about history and memory than a plot-driven story (nothing much happens in the book), but there is a sense of mystery to it that keeps you reading.

Next, I will open Toni Morrison’s Home. So if I finish this book by the end of the month, I’m back on track to completing my challenge of reading 12 books in 365 days.

Yay for summer reading!  (Many summers ago, I made a resolution to read 10 books during the summer, and miraculously I did it. What was my secret?  Back then I didn’t have kids.)

Leave a Reply

