30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 28

bagel lox

My food-day began with bagel lox at Eggspectation. I decided that was the healthier (?) choice than the eggs benedict. A cup of orange juice and coffee made the meal perfect.  (Probably should have skipped the orange juice – unnecessary sugar and calories.)  I looked at the dessert menu and came VERY close to ordering a cheesecake but decided against it.  Bam! That was some serious willpower right there.

Right around 2:30 pm, I realized I hadn’t eaten lunch and felt an intense hunger.  I stopped at Starbucks for their chicken salad sandwich and some tea while I graded papers. It was so very tempting to get something sweet after the sandwich but again I was able to call upon my incredible willpower to say, “No!”

picture from Starbucks company site

Dinner was a simple spaghetti made with finely chopped broccoli, carrots, and onion sauteed in olive oil and mixed into the sauce. Husband called it “Mommy’s Mystery Sauce.”  Everyone ate their share.  For dessert, Husband and Thing 1 shared some butter pecan ice cream.  And here again I was able to skip it – instead I had some fresh strawberries.

So, all in all, I made better choices today than I did yesterday.  This may be like the last 400 meters or so in a 3-mile cross-country run when you get a rush of energy and sprint to the end.  Or I’m working under some guilt from the last few days of making bad choices. Either way, I’m feeling pretty confident tonight.

Leave a Reply

