30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 21

I started the day with a banana… and… and… a scone.  And things just went downhill from there.

Sin #1

What can I say? It was so delicious. But you knew I’d say that.  In the morning I dropped off Thing 2 with Grandma and took my laptop to Barnes and Noble.  To start my day-long grading session, I put in my earphones, turned on Pandora, and got myself a scone and a cup of coffee. I ended up staying there from 10 am ’til 4 pm.  Lunch was a turkey and cheese Panini. And I’d like to be able to say that I told the cafe employee to leave out the chips (thereby feeling morally superior to those who simply take the chips and eat it).  Or that I exercised great will-power and just didn’t eat the chips.  That I packed it up and brought it home for Thing 1. But that’d be lying. As we tell Thing 1, “Always tell the truth.”

Sin #2

After a cup of coffee, a scone, a Panini, a bag of chips, a cup of tea, many cups of free water, and some strawberries I packed for myself this morning… grading got done – and, folks, that’s what’s really important here.  Of course, just when I thought I was going to get through 40 research papers without finding a plagiarized essay, I did find one (it was the second to the last one I read).  It’s pretty clear this was Universe’s way of punishing me for eating that bag of chips.  And the scone.

It seems that the only rule that I’m able to keep easily (relatively speaking) is not eating after 7 pm.  I actually do feel good about this – as it’s helping me change a bad habit of snacking between dinner time and bed time merely to comfort myself or to chase away boredom. Perhaps I will continue to keep this particular rule even after the 30 days are over.

Leave a Reply

