30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 19

It was a busy day for our family.  Hubby took Thing 1 and I took Thing 2 – then we went our separate ways to run errands in the morning. At lunch, however, we met up at the best family establishment around: Costco.

Let’s just say there aren’t many healthy items on Costco’s eatery menu.  I had a hot-dog and a bite of Thing 1’s pizza. Okay – I admit, it wasn’t the healthiest choice for me or for the family, but oh what the heck – the whole meal cost less than 10 bucks! [Although… I guess you could argue that there’s a reason for that…]  To make up for it (?) I did grab a big box of salad and a giant bag of broccoli as well as lots of fruits to bring home.

For dinner, we got together with our extended family for my uncle’s birthday dinner. It was Korean buffet.  My favorite kind of meal.

Korean food - fish, chicken, noodles, sashimi, and other things I don't know how to describe in English
Korean food – fish, chicken, noodles, sashimi, and other things I don’t know how to describe in English

On a different note – I love these family gathering. Thing 1 simply LOVES seeing his cousins (my cousins’ kids).  I can see how wonderful it must have been when people had like 8 kids (my mom has 7 siblings), especially when they are all so close and their kids are close. Although Thing 1 and Thing 2 have only each other for sibling, they have 16 cousins!  And food is sometimes that essential ingredient that bring people together.

P.S. I did pass on the birthday cake, which was a potato cake from a Korean bakery.  Instead, I ate some fruit – and THAT will help me sleep better tonight.

Leave a Reply

