30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 7

Remember the rules?

1. No food or drink (other than water)  between 7 pm and 7 am. Nope. Not even fruits.  (This one’s gonna be really hard at first.)
2. No chips, cookies, cakes, and ice cream.
3. No sugary drinks. No sugar in coffee.
4. Document EVERYTHING I eat on this blog – pictures are great.

Fail.

Oh Dear Reader, you will be disappointed in me today.  Two things happened:

1. Two shortbread cookies and one dark chocolate covered cookie were eaten at a meeting at work today (do you like my use of the passive verb here?).  Yes, I organized the meeting and brought the cookies. No, no one shoved the cookies down my throat.

2. I got home at 6 pm, after work and we had a visitor who didn’t leave until 7 pm, at which point I started making dinner.  We didn’t finish eating dinner until almost 8 pm.

So, let us analyze the situation here, shall we?

The first mistake – the eating of sweets, shall we say? – was TOTALLY in my control.  I did not have to eat the most amazingly delicious shortbread cookies (“made with real butter” as the packaging so proudly screams at you). But I really wanted to – they’re made with REAL butter! So I did.  And the world didn’t end.  But honestly my downfall began when I went to Target and put these boxes of cookies in my cart.

The second mistake – the late dinner – was out of my control. Lesson here? I can’t control EVERYTHING – which Hubby tries to remind me now and then and I don’t listen.

Right after dinner, I had to give Thing 2 a bath, feed him, and put him down for the night.  Then came tidying up the kitchen and family room while Hubby gave Thing 1 a bath and tucked him in for the night.  By the time I realized I wanted some fruits… it was past 9 pm.  So I passed.  I am now drinking water.

It’s going to be a long night. I have much grading to do… and the later I stay up, the greater the urge to snack.  I will have a cup of tea and drink water – and pray for Will Power.  (Also, the worse the students’ papers, the greater the temptation to eat, eat, and eat something really bad…)

One thought on “30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 7

  1. Laura, I just want you to know that i am completely inspired by your 30 day challenge. I, too, have been feeling ‘heavy’…and I want to eat more healthfully. Sooooo, yesterday I started following your simple rules…and hubby is hopping on the bandwagon with me, too.
    Thanks for helping us get started!

Leave a Reply

