30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 4

Food intake for today: banana, coffee, 2 eggs (including the yoke – I mean, it’s just too yummy to chew and spit out), yogurt, ham & cheese sandwich, orange, 1.25 apple, double tall nonfat latte (I know! another one!), leftover spicy squid & rice (I know! again!), strawberries and blueberries.

In the last 4 days, I’ve eaten basically the same things for each meal.  Getting kind of tired of it.  So I made a trip to the happiest place in the whole world.

No, not DSW. No, not Disney World.

I went to Costco.

image
a new kind of snack (4 year old son took the picture of the pineapple…)

So tempting to try those sample carts they have all over the store.  So tempting to buy all kinds of snacks – all the more tempting because it makes you think “It’s gotta be so much cheaper than buying at Safeway!” But I was good.  If I can’t buy cookies, cakes, chips, or ice cream for snacks… whatever shall I get?

Broccoli florets, mini peppers, the biggest bag of carrots you’ve ever seen, and humus. Also – because I have to eat something that’s sweet – strawberries, blueberries, pineapple, pears, and grapes. Yum. (No that was not a sarcastic Yum – I truly do love fruits.)

This afternoon, I was feeling a little hungry so I asked my mom what she had to snack on. She opened a bag of Korean cookies for me – and as tempting as that was, I declined. I didn’t eat anything.  Again – 5 days ago, I would have eaten that whole bag. Each day is a challenge, of course, but I can only tackle this one day, even urge at a time.

One confession to make, though: By the time I was done with the berries, it was 7:10 pm.  Won’t happy again. And I’m going to have some herbal tea and watch the news (see what how they caught this Boston marathon bombing suspect). That’s okay, right?

Leave a Reply

