30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 1

30 Day Challenge: Me, Myself, and Food – Day 1

I feel sluggish. I’m always tired. I feel very large.  Frankly, I feel heavy. Baby is now almost 5 months and I’m not even nursing anymore. It’s time to stop making excuses and start making sense of what I eat.  I used to run and used to LOVE running.  However, until I can get back to a point where I can find time by prioritizing the time to walk, jog, or run, I am going to first address my relationship with food.

But nothing fancy here.  Fancy, real strict diet plan just won’t work for me – not at this point in my life.  Here are four fairly simple rules (based on what I know to be my major weaknesses):

1. No food or drink (other than water)  between 7 pm and 7 am. Nope. Not even fruits.  (This one’s gonna be really hard at first.)
2. No chips, cookies, cakes, and ice cream.  (I did this for 40 days during Lent this year.  It’s doable and it helps me cut out a lot of sugar.)
3. No sugary drinks. No sugar in coffee.  (This is tough as I love lemonades in the summer.  Unsweetened iced teas it is.)
4. Document EVERYTHING I eat – pictures are great.  I’m hoping that simple awareness of what I put in my body will make me a bit choosier about what I eat.

Today is Day 1. 

Totally forgot about Rule #3 and put sugar in my coffee this morning. Other than that I did well.

Two cups of coffee, water, banana, apple, water, cold cut sub and pickles, orange, Korean spicy squid with rice and kimchi, and more water. I would have eaten a fruit after meal but I didn’t have enough time.

I hope I can avoid snacking tonight while I watch The Following which stars Kevin Bacon… Yum. Bacon.

image
Breakfast and snack
image
Lunch
Leave a Reply

