what i gave up for my babies – McCourt and McCann

Frank McCourt – 2009

Colum McCann – 2013

My husband and I have been attending HoCoPoLitSo‘s Irish Evening in Columbia, Maryland since 2006.  Though we are so very NOT Irish ourselves, we love the literary readings, the music, and the dance performance.

When my older son was born in 2009, however, I missed Frank McCourt’s reading – which of course was a sold-out event.  Honestly, two weeks after the boy was born, I just couldn’t do it – to get out of my pajamas, to shower, to put on real pants with no elastic waist, to put on makeup and all that ordeal.  Not even for Mr. McCourt.

This year, on the day Colum McCann came to read at HoCoPoLitSo‘s 35th Irish Evening – and his friend Maryland Governor Martin O’Malley joined the show –  my younger son turned 100 days old – a big deal in my culture.  So, apparently I missed one of the best Irish Evenings ever.

So now the two boys are even, and I don’t have to resent one more than the other – I can now resent both equally.  Ah, the art of finding the silver lining.

Leave a Reply

