Day 30 of 30-Day Challenge

Well, this is it. The last day of the challenge.

Sammy and I stayed home as my college and his daycare were closed due to Hurricane Sandy. As Hubby left for work, I braced myself for a long day of trying to entertain Sammy. I’m really not a home-body (cabin fever gets to me if I stay home for more than 24 hours or if I don’t have some kind of “project” to work on at home). Because of the weather and my very pregnant body that gets tired just walking around the house, however, going out anywhere seemed too daunting. Luckily, two friends were willing to brave the roads and came over for playdate and lunch. After lunch, we took a 2 hour nap. Then, Hubby came home with McDonald’s dinner. So the day was not so bad.

This evening, we got the fire going and sat down to read. I picked one book and Sammy picked one book. I really like the Olivia books. It’s clever and the illustration by Ian Falcon is great – simple lines but very stylistic. (Falcon also did the illustration for David Sedaris’s book, Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk.) Sammy’s choice – Dinosaur Days, of course – became the official last book of this challenge. I wonder what I will do tomorrow… Will I insist on making sure we read at least one book? Or will I go back to the old ways?

(As a side note, I finished Little Bee and started reading The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Murakami, which I realize is a huge commitment. Maybe my next challenge should be to read one chapter a day from this book…. except that I will be having a baby in 2.5 weeks and probably that will bring everything to a halt.)

image

image

Leave a Reply

