Day 4 of 30-Day Challenge

Day 4 – Are You My Mother?

Today I got to pick the book, and I chose P.D. James’s Are You My Mother?  It’s been awhile since we’ve read this book, and I really enjoyed it.  Sammy seemed completely engrossed in the story.

The story is about a little bird that hatches and goes looking for his mother. He asks a kitten, a hen, a cow, and a crane if they are his mother.  At the end he finds himself back in his nest and finds his mother.

I wonder if Sammy understands that these other animals – the kitten, the hen, and the cow – cannot be the bird’s mother because they’re not birds.  Does he understand that mommy, daddy, and kids have to be of the same species?  I wonder how he understands the story…

It seems like we’ll be back to trains tomorrow. He already picked out a Thomas book for tomorrow’s reading.

Something else that seems to have completely captured Sammy’s attention: Friends.  Today I was watching some reruns of Friends while Sammy was playing in his playroom.  He joined me on the couch and watched with me, completely into the show. He wouldn’t let me change the channel. He laughed when Joey did something stupid.  Interesting.

Leave a Reply

