why did we become college professors?

This makes me think about my days in college, graduate school, and my couple of years in my Ph.D. program (which I quit after I had my son).  Some of these thoughts occurred to me when I realized I did not want to commit my life to studying and writing about 18th century British literature.  I completely see value in this kind of research – my utmost respect goes to  English scholars – but I realized it wasn’t for me.  (I love the comment on Harold Bloom. LOL.)

I went to college and graduate school to study English and “to write about Emerson and death” (see video below)… but I became a community college professor TO TEACH.

Leave a Reply

