poor showing: was it a mistake?

Remember how I offered my students a chance to make up the peer review in class?  Well, of the 11 that should have shown up, 9 did.  And of these 9, only 5 had rough drafts ready for peer review – 2 just didn’t have the rough draft written, 1 triple-spaced his essay and tried to pass off a 2.5-page paper as a 4-page paper, and another student came in 30 minutes late.  So, needless to say, this was disappointing to me.  I don’t know what I expected.  That these students would be so grateful for the chance to make up their work that they’d be lining up in front of the classroom, eager to read each other’s essays and evaluate them?

Now, if this were to happen again… would I make such an offer?  I am not sure.  I am not sure that I see much value in sacrificing a whole class session so that 1/4 of the class could actually make up the work they should have done on time the first time.   But if this session helped those 5 students to not only make up the work but also get some good feedback on their papers, was it worth it?  I’ll be thinking about this for some time…

Leave a Reply

